The Beginning

Circa 2000

The earliest memories I have are from when I was five years old. This recurring dream from back then is my fondest memory. It starts up high, among the clouds and fog. I am on a wooden rope bridge, and far away in both directions are mountain tops. The white and faint blue of the sky around me, the brown of the wood and mountains… I remember it well. Nobody is around, and under my feet I can see through the gaps of the wooden planks, but I am not afraid. Everything just feels so peaceful. The wind whistles by soothingly. I lay down and stay there for what feels like an eternity, just savoring the moment. Suddenly I feel like moving, so I roll over- through a gap in the wood and the ropes to wake up in my own bed. I can picture the phantom of the bridge above me, as if I had just fallen off it. I smile at the thought.

Leave a Comment